Freshly Laundered

freshlylaundered

A couple of days ago I read an article on The Daily Post and came to the conclusion that I will never be featured on WordPress‘s Freshly Pressed, of that I have no doubt.  To start with, I can not spell and my use of grammar is, well lets just say, iffy at best.   If my professors could see my blog they would have to ask how in the name of all that is academically sound did that girl ever pass English?  All I can say is that it was all by the grace of God that I got out of there with decent grades.   Not only am I dealing with that problem, I am inconsistent with my posts.  If nothing happens to me, there is nothing to write about.  And lets face it, the blog content of the life and times of Life is a bowl of Kibble is not profound or earth shaking.

I started writing on Blogspot.com.  I wrote like I did in college.  I would get a comment once in a blue moon but it was for some Work At Home opportunities.  I had one follower and that was my bestest friend.   I tried writing articles of importance, editorials of current events, the weather, anything I could think of that would catch the interest of the masses.  Deafening Silence .  But how could that be?  I could command a room full of people if ever asked to speak at a gathering.  I could talk on various topics and never see a fidgety person.  WHY could I not reach out and grab the attention of some wonderful reader that can’t wait to tell me how great the story was or to cuss me out because I wrote something that was propaganda worthy?   Because, I am a southerner.   I have a southern rhythm that you could not hear in writing .  I speak with an accent that most can’t understand and I dare say that some can’t stand to hear.  I am not lecturer.  I do not have some divine knowledge that can peek a tear or move a soul.  I am a bit on the airhead side,  full of adventure,  I flirt when I talk and use my accent to its fullest potential and with all that southern flirt I found I could make people laugh.  In a world of daily tragedies, laughter is a universal sign of hope and goodwill.  It motivates me to look for the funny in life.  It moves me and it can peek a tear from my eyes to hear a person laugh even in the face of death. (r.i.p. mom)  With this realization, I changed my writing style and blog home.  Unfortunately, I could not change my fundamentally challenged grammar and in a way I do not seek to.  It makes me…me.  And this is just a part of the many reasons I would never be considered for Freshly Pressed.

Would I really want to be freshly pressed?  Well when I started blogging, on WordPress.com, I read a Pressed article about being Subscribed into Submission.  Heck, I know that feeling.  I Hit 90 subscribers in just months of starting this blog and it scared the bajesus out of me.  I could not think of a thing to write.  I felt an overwhelming responsibly to all the good people that liked me as much as I liked me.  (wink)    I could tell stories to folks in the park or at the store without a hitch but putting me, the real me, into words time after time was HARD.  This ambitious undertaking was doing me in, hence the lack of daily, weekly or sometimes monthly post.  This is yet another reason I will never make it.  I have come to the conclusion that my subscribers, my followers make me feel Freshly Pressed everytime they like or comment.  They are what makes me feel good each time I hit publish.  They accept me for me with all my spelling and structural  mistakes.  Thank you for making me feel worthy enough to come into your life.

To conclude, I now declare myself as being Freshly Laundered by all that follow me.  May I never let you down and always keep you laughing or at least donning a smile.

Ruthie

19 thoughts on “Freshly Laundered

    • Thank you Kate and I agree wholeheartedly. After all it makes us want to put our best sock forward when we are welcomed into the hearts and living rooms of our friends. You are always there and I can’t express how much I appreciate you. Thank you, thank you <3

  1. Ironing is so over-rated. Pressing is more so. I can snottily say it’s happened to me twice and you know what? I still put my pants on one leg at a time. Oh, no, actually I don’t. I forgot. My bad.

    I like your approach to blogging. When you have something to say, say it. If not, let someone else have a turn. That’s the way I blog because otherwise there is too much pressure. Shit, I do this for fun. If I want pressure, I’ll go to work. Or listen to my husband. Or something.

  2. I have to say, of all the bloggers that comment regularly, or that I read and look forward to reading, only one of them came from their being fp’d, and when I got fp’d,it makes me sound like an ingrate, but it was more trouble than it’s worth.
    The sheer volume of bloggery means they’ll miss the good stuff.
    And you have that in spades.
    (Plus freshly laundered stuff smells so much better.)

  3. Hi dear,
    Hope all is well! You are such a sweetheart. I love your new template and posts. You write beautifully and I wouldn’t worry about being freshly pressed. You will when it’s your time. As for me, I’ve been very busy with other demands; family, study, etc. I have lots of drafts set up to post and will get back on board soon. This weekend, I’m attending a workshop away from home. Hopefully, I’ll find time to do some catching up. Thanks for thinking of me. :-)
    Eliz

  4. I don’t iron either, have much better things to be doing – like whizzing round the house with my new steam cleaner, no where is currently safe from my steaming wet nozzle. That sounds rude. Cleaning I actually love but ironing isn’t cleaning. I was Freshly Pressed probably 2 years ago this month, they picked a fairly blah post, got loads of new followers and only 2 stuck around. You find better people from each others blogs. You get people who loiter round Freshly Pressed to get themselves noticed, shows people are desperate for attention or to be liked. I would rather be liked by a select and discerning bunch who communicate rather then the masses temporarily.

      • Speaking of being afraid to drive, my daughter has been old enough to drive for several now. She really needs to learn because of our remote location in the world. Her standard response to my harping on it is…” Listen mom, I don’t think it is a good idea to stick a 2 ton weapon under my arse and turn me loose on the streets of ANYWHERE. That just scares me to death! Now leave me alone about it.” It is the same answer over and over. I give her plenty of times to practice it. ;)

      • I can understand, I have a high level of concentration at work but when I am out and about I like observing, I’d find it hard to focus on the road instead of taking everything else in

  5. I tend to agree that people who are ‘Freshly Pressed’ have a sort of profile with common themes. They can put pictures up and all that sort of stuff. That leaves me put in the cold and looking for a cheap coat. Still, it’s nice to dream

Leave a Reply

