Spooky or Not

As you know from the previous post, I have started a new job at a hotel.  It is a beautiful building that not only is a hotel, it has a mall on the bottom floor and a gift shop.  The building is rich in history and murder.  I now write for the hotel blog and I want to share a few stories but I don’t want to be tagged as a GHOST hotel, even if there are quirky happenings in and around the building.

I thought I would run a few of the stories I have written for the hotel  on my blog first and see if I can get some feed back.  Main question, Is this too spooky to put on a business blog?

and now    ……  In the Hall pt1

In the hall of the mall we have several antiques, most of which, for sale.  Items like old copper pots and pans, spurs, and old ford wrenches.  Down a bit further we have larger items an old radio, lanterns, a coffin, a very old wheelchair and much more.

wheelchair

In the hall of the mall a few nights ago we had a man spot an item that intrigued him.  He saw the old wooden coffin standing upright next to the wheelchair.  He had to have the coffin.   He asked  Ms P, at the front desk, if we would take less for it.  She called me, the gentleman and I came to an agreement on price and he left with the beautiful old cherry wood casket.  Shortly after that things started to get a little strange.

Mountain Comforts owner, Elizabeth, came in the next morning telling me that Mr. Jenkins has been very active.  She has been catching glimpses of his shadow all throughout the day.   She goes on to tell me other interesting things she has seen in the past 14 plus years.  Don’t worry,  I will be passing them on to you in the coming months.

I then decide to tell her about the night we sold the coffin.  Ms P called me at home that evening.  I spoke with the man over the phone.  After our discussion, he pulls his truck around to the double doors and prepares his truck for the loading of the casket.  As we are talking, I hear what sounds like Ms. Pat falling down or dropping her receiver.  After all the banging, rattling, and scuffling I hear Ms.P say, “How Rude.”  What? I asked.   She says, “Sounds like someone picked up your extension.”

Dead silence.

  I then tell her, “Ms. P that is impossible.  I am on my cell phone and you are on the only hotel phone.”

Dead silence.

We were both a tiny bit freaked.  I told Ms. P maybe Mr. Jenkins might be a bit upset that we sold his possible resting place.

  BBBrrrr, is it cold in here?

Ruthie

2 thoughts on “Spooky or Not

  1. OMG just realized I was disconnected from your blog (and many others’ argh!) So sorry, but with new computer and constant internet probs and all sorts of other shite, I just assumed you hadn;t written for ages – so glad to be reconnected to you! xxx

Leave a Reply

