SPOOKY OR NOT #2

In the hall of the upstairs hotel, there is the telephone booth that I told you about before.  “click, click, cliiiccckkk”.  Well, there is another old old phone.  It is hung on the wall beside room 4 and across from room 7.

oldphone2

It appears to be precariously hanging there but I can assure you it is attached well.  It has an old dial that sticks when you turn it and a small box with a cradle the receiver hangs from.   When I got here I played with it a time or two.  No dial tone but it was a cool blast from the past.   This little gem is a great conversation piece. There is a modern day wire coming out from the wall but it is attached to nothing.  Above the telephone line is a current day telephone jack faceplate.   I had the impression it was attached to a modern day phone that had long ago been removed because beside it all is a very tall telephone table, the kind you would find at gmaw’s house.

Somewhere along the line, pun not intended, someone plugged the dangling line into telephone wall jack.  Whaalaa, it somehow connected to the old antique phone that you see above to a live line resulting in a dial tone!  This building never fails to amaze me.  While Ms Pat was on the phone in the gift shop I ran up to the hotel and picked up the receiver and just like that we were connected, just a dial tone between us.

As you know I am not a believer in earth bound spirits.  At this point, I am almost convinced Ms. Pat and I have solved the mystery.  Someone did pick up the extension, which we now know is upstairs in the hall.  The only thing that stands in the way of  me being fully satisfied with our discovery…. none of our guest had checked in for the night.  Somewhere in the back of my mind, I can still hear Ms. Pat, I believe in ghost, I believe in ghost, I …..

In the last week, the owner and I experienced one creepy together and I was stunned, no beyond stunned, at what happened in our arcade! Those stories are to come.  I also have the full story of Mr. Jenkins and how he met his demise.

**  In all reality, I know there are logical explanations for every odd thing that happens in this 1935 building.  I hope you find the Jenkin’s stories as entertaining to read as they are to write.  Our hotel, mall and gift shops are delightful to be in.  There is a positive vibe throughout this old building.  The funky things that happen around here are true but is it a ghost, who knows??

One thought on “SPOOKY OR NOT #2

Leave a Reply

