aMusing Mondays: This Ain’t Yo Mama’s Dance

I write for the webcam in our little village.  This story was one I wrote back in the peak of our dry season and posted for the webcam blog.  Originally, it was called The Dance but I thought I would shake it up a bit with a different title.

I can not tell you how long it has been since we have had rain. Days would be an understatement it is more like nine months. I remember a few years ago, back around 2006, we had a pretty good dry spell too. A handful of us gals decided to try a rain dance. We had a designated time, we decided to do it in our own back yards and…. we were  to do it naked!.

WHY???

I don’t know but that was the deal. You had to follow these decisions to the T or, as I was told, “To the T or don’t do the dance at all.”  We were convinced it would only work if we all did it and followed the criteria to the letter. The dance was not choreographed nor rehearsed. You might say we decided  to do an interpretative dance. I remember thinking, “What the heck am I DOING?”, while I was stomping my feet and throwing my hands in the air.  My normally covered places were now exposed and wiggling in the wind.  My arms were waving and I was chanting, “Come on, come on and make it rain!”, over and over and over again. I felt so foolish.   My dogs thought I had lost my mind but they liked it. They were running in circles chasing each other in the dark of night and barking up a storm. Thank goodness my neighbors were gone. The whole time I was wondering if everybody else was doing it or if any moment they were going to jump out and punk me. The one thing we did not decide was how long we were to do this naked rain dance. After what felt like LONG ENOUGH, I grabbed my robe and ran inside, dogs in tow. A few days later the rain came. It rained and rained. It rained so much that parts of the mountain flooded. In fact, I had a rather large river running through my front yard even parts of the highway had to be closed because of the run off. It was strange to say the least. That following winter was a good snowy winter as well. I would have to say that the nude rain danced worked.

Now here we are again. No rain in sight and nothing on the radar. One of the original organizers called the other night and stated we need another rain dance. Same rules as last time…and to be followed to the T or it just won’t work. Last night at 9:00 p.m. I tipped toed out the back door. My dogs were not invited this year because my neighbors were here most of the week and I was not sure if they had left yet. I preferred no one witness this crazy woman trying to do her part for all her forest neighbors. Nine o’clock struck and I began to dance as before. Right as I started, I heard an eerie  noise creep up behind me. I could not see a thing because my eyes had not had a chance to adjust to the moonless night.  All I could think of was a coyote or bear or some other kind of wild animal breathing on my bare legs! That crazy thought soon became a reality.  Not only could I feel it, I could hear its steady breathe…in out…in out.   I stood there frozen, naked and night blinded.  I gave myself a minute to adjust to the darkness then slowly turned around.

MY DOGS!

My dogs had slipped out through the dog door and were waiting for their dance invitation, which I was happy to give after I made sure my neighbors were gone. Those little happy brown eyes and wagging tails were just so cute I just could not refuse them. We started slowly then worked our way up to a full-fledged rain dance! The dogs were in heaven running in circles and barking. We were having a pretty good time. It felt oddly freeing and if it paid off like last time very rewarding. I felt no embarrassment in the cloak of darkness and no one else was around… until look up to see Hubs shadow moving toward the window. Oh no, he is going to think I have lost my mind, again. He knew that us girls were going to do a rain dance but he had no idea that we were doing it naked. In all our dancing fun, the dogs and I had worked our way up the hill and out further in the field than I had planned. I had not noticed that until I had to race for my robe by the door. I had to get to it before he turned ON the Porch Light! I believe my dogs thought this was a race to end all races. Mutt must have felt I was winning because she moved her body right in front of mine and over I went like a slinky down the stairs, or in my case down the hill.  Ouch! I had to have rolled and bounced because I was on my feet in a split second and in full stride.  Thank God for padded cabooses.

WHAT WAS I THINKING?

Finally I get to my robe, compose myself, pulled the sticks out of my hair and walked in as if nothing happened. When I walked in, Hubs asked, “Did you do your dance at 9:00?” “Yes”, I said then went to wash my wounds. While tending to my skint knees, I ‘decided’ if called upon next year I will  pass on the dance. I think I better leave that to the younger braver ones.  I just hope that this year’s effort will bring the rain again.

Until next time

update: 1 week after our dance it RAINED.

21 thoughts on “aMusing Mondays: This Ain’t Yo Mama’s Dance

  1. Texas did in deed suffer this year but I live in New Mexico. I am plopped in the middle of the Lincoln National Forest on a mountain about 9000 feet high. You start feeling sorry for all the trees and critter when you don’t get enough rain. oooOOO Canada. Daughter wants to holiday there this summer.

    • I can see the Rockies from my window, they are about 40 miles away, not quite 9,000 feet but we are a mile or so. She should definitely head up here. Lots to see and do, Banff, Jasper, the mountains, the Okanagon and of course Calgary and Vancouver. Great country with great people (I am a bit biased on that point lol)

  2. oooooo! how exciting!

    But be careful what you wish for!!!!

    I love naked swimming in the pool and when living in Spain it seemed perfectly normal but here in BG..it is just too cold…we have not had rain for months but there is no way that this overweight elderly pensioner is dancing naked in my garden..no siryee

  3. LMAO. Great read. I can see the dancing all over town by naked women. Your race to safety, however, had me in stitches. Running, tripping, rolling, running. HaHaHa. I think this needs to be incorporated into a movie or episode of Desparate Housewives. Too, too funny.

    • The first dance only had about 6 committed women. With the total success of the first dance there were about 30 more dancers to join the troupe.

      Oh my goodness, you are right I can just see Susan playing my part. HAHA now that is funny

  4. The most important this is you tried. Texas also experienced with worst drought in ages. I just went to brazos bend to revisit the gators with my son and I was shocked that the water in only 1/4 the depth of what it was during Summer. Poor gators and wild birds. We didn’t some rain dance too, did not work. Time for some massive prayers. Happy Thanksgiving . Best wishes to your family.

    • Well so far us girls have a record of 2 and 0. Sounds like yaw need to get us up there next year to preform our dance. But I can promise it will work cause being in a place other than our own backyards may hinder the naked factor. 🙂 Here is to praying we all find relief next year in an abundance of rain. (without the dance)

    • I hope you plan on sharing that rain with all of us in the southern half of the nation next year. In fact, I would like to place my order now so I will not have to participate in any more rain dances. Thanks so much for the comment. I enjoyed reading your blog the other day. I too had a few lol moments.

    • thank you Petal. The one thing I like about me is that I am willing to try anything physically possible and according to my parents I came into this world that way. I think I should let you know that according to them having a child with a free spirit is more that two parents could handle. My mom always said I was not born I was unleashed. HA Then she would throw me outside to let the village have a turn 😉 and no I am not joking.

Leave a Reply

