Pay Phone

ClassicTelephoneBoothLast night daughter and I were  coming home from a day of shopping and dinner.  On the way up the mountain we were listening to the Top 20.  The song “Pay Phone” came on the radio. I asked her why in the world would they call it that? Kids nowadays have no idea what a pay phone is. We then started talking about how different the world was back when I was a kid.  It was a few minutes later when Stella  asked,  how in the world did y’all remember all those telephone numbers?  I laughed and told her you can do anything if you put your mind to it and if your teacher put the fear of God into ya.  I tell her back then you had to know your phone number by heart in the first grade.  They would go down the line several times a year and have you tell your phone number, date of birth, and address.  If you were wrong, it was curtains.  Then I started telling her I could still remember my phone number from when I was in 1st grade.

Genuinely and without skipping a beat, Stella asks, 1?

Funny but so mean!

6 thoughts on “Pay Phone

    • That is awesome. I called my old number not to long after my parents died just to see if it were still in use. It was. It got me to thinking how many children had to memorize that same number before cell phones were so common place. Mine is forever etched in my brain 🙂 Funny thing I could not tell you anyone’s phone number today. I just say a name and poof they are on the other end. I hope I never lose my life line.

Leave a Reply

